• Events
SEE ALL
Oct 24
TOUR
Edouard Louis From Oct. 24 to Oct. 28 66 West 12th Street, New York, NY 10011
Oct 25
Talk
Édouard Louis at New School Oct 25, 2017 | from 6:30 to 7:30 pm The New School Klein Conference Room, Room A510, Alvin Johnson/J.M. Kaplan Hall Room 510 66 West 12th Street, New York, NY 10011
Oct 25
TOUR
Christophe Boltanski OCT 25-30, 2017 972 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY

My Wish List

Gregoire Delacourt, translated by Anthea Bell | March 25, 2014

Jocelyne lives in a small town in France where she runs a fabric shop, has been married to the same man for twenty-one years, and has raised two children. She is beginning to wonder what happened to all those dreams she had when she was seventeen. Could her life have been different?

Then she wins the lottery—and suddenly finds the world at her fingertips. But she chooses not to tell anyone, not even her husband—not just yet. Without cashing the check, she begins to make a list of all the things she could do with the money. But does Jocelyne really want her life to change?

Gregoire Delacourt is an award-winning French novelist. He lives in Paris.

Anthea Bell has published acclaimed translations from French, German, Danish, and Polish, including W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. She lives in Cambridge, England.


“This dastardly little novel focuses on love, desire and what we stand to lose when we win. . . . [A book] the late novelist Josephine Hart might have written.” —Kirkus Reviews“Fans of Chocolat and The Elegance of the Hedgehog will adore My Wish List, an emotionally wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of ambition, risk, and acceptance. . . . Jocelyne is an immensely likable narrator, and Delacourt’s fluid, elegant prose brings layers of depth to a relatively simple story.” —Booklist, starred review“[A] fable about how money changes everything, and nothing . . . The aching need for comfort, safety and love that it describes is universal.” —Publishers Weekly

More Info

RECENTLY PUBLISHED