• Events
Mar 20
Filmmaker Karim Moussaoui in the US and Canada Facets Cinematheque 1517 W. Fullerton Ave. Chicago Il, 60614
Film Series
Visionary Form: Dressing Up for the Screen Metrograph 7, Ludlow Street New York NY 10002
Cézanne Portraits National Gallery of Art 6th Street and Constitution Avenue NW Washington DC, 20565

My Wish List

Gregoire Delacourt, translated by Anthea Bell | March 25, 2014

Jocelyne lives in a small town in France where she runs a fabric shop, has been married to the same man for twenty-one years, and has raised two children. She is beginning to wonder what happened to all those dreams she had when she was seventeen. Could her life have been different?

Then she wins the lottery—and suddenly finds the world at her fingertips. But she chooses not to tell anyone, not even her husband—not just yet. Without cashing the check, she begins to make a list of all the things she could do with the money. But does Jocelyne really want her life to change?

Gregoire Delacourt is an award-winning French novelist. He lives in Paris.

Anthea Bell has published acclaimed translations from French, German, Danish, and Polish, including W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. She lives in Cambridge, England.

“This dastardly little novel focuses on love, desire and what we stand to lose when we win. . . . [A book] the late novelist Josephine Hart might have written.” —Kirkus Reviews“Fans of Chocolat and The Elegance of the Hedgehog will adore My Wish List, an emotionally wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of ambition, risk, and acceptance. . . . Jocelyne is an immensely likable narrator, and Delacourt’s fluid, elegant prose brings layers of depth to a relatively simple story.” —Booklist, starred review“[A] fable about how money changes everything, and nothing . . . The aching need for comfort, safety and love that it describes is universal.” —Publishers Weekly

More Info