• Events
Mar 21
Until The Birds Return Avalon Theatre, 5612 Connecticut Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20015
Mar 21
Jean Rouch and Modernity Columbia Maison Française
 515 West 116th Street New York, NY 10027
Lionel Bringuier Conducts the LA Phil Walt Disney Concert Hall 111 S Grand Ave Los Angeles, CA 90012

The Cathedral of Mist

Paul Willems | Translated by Edward Gauvin | Wakefield Press | May 24, 2016

First published in French in 1983, The Cathedral of Mist is a collection of short stories from the last of the great Francophone Belgian fantasists, distilled tales of distant journeys, buried memories, and impossible architecture. Described here are the emotionally disturbed architectural plan for a palace of emptiness; the experience of snowfall in a bed in the middle of a Finnish forest; the memory chambers that fuel the marvelous futility of the endeavor to write; and the beautiful woodland church, built of warm air currents and fog, scattering in storms and taking renewed shape at dusk, that gives this book its title.

The Cathedral of Mist offers the sort of ethereal narratives that might have come from the pen of a sorrowful, distinctly Belgian Italo Calvino. It is accompanied by two meditative essays on reading and writing that fall in the tradition of Marcel Proust and Julien Gracq.

Paul Willems (1912–1997) published his first novel, Everything Here is Real, in 1941. Three more novels and, toward the end of his life, two collections of short stories bracketed his career as a playwright.


More information is available on the pusblisher's website.