Dungeon Monstres, vol. 6: The Great Animator

Written by Lewis Trondheim, Joann Sfar, Stanislas and Nicolas Keramidas | NBM Publishing | Feb 2016
In an automaton-themed volume, "The Great Animator" pits the predecessor to the Vaucanson castle and realm against a huge army of ruthless invaders. The great castle’s army automatons evens the fight but at great cost. READ MORE

Battle of the Vegetables

Written by Matthieu Sylvander | Illustrated by Percival Barrier | Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Books for Young Readers | Feb 2016
Short tales in graphic novel format describe three adventures in the vegetable garden, none of which ends happily—but all of which are wickedly funny. READ MORE

Snowpiercer 3: Terminus

Written by Olivier Bocquet | Illustrated by Jean-Marc Rochette | Titan Comics | Feb 2016
The third volume of the graphic novel series that inspired the movie Snowpiercer, starring Chris Evans—presented in English for the very first time! READ MORE

A History of Virility

Written by Alain Corbin, Jean-Jacques Courtine and Georges Vigarello | Translated by Keith Cohen | Columbia University Press | Feb 2016
In these original essays, an international group of scholars, including Arlette Farge, Jean-Paul Bertaud, Christelle Taraud, and Fabrice Virgili, follow the socio-historical evolution of virility, as opposed to masculinity, to unsettle popular accounts of politics and culture. READ MORE

The Man Who Snapped His Fingers

Written by Fariba Hachtroudi | Translated by Alison Anderson | Europa Editions | Feb 2016
Winner of the 2001 French Human Rights Prize, French-Iranian author Fariba Hachtroudi's English-language debut explores themes as old as time: the crushing effects of totalitarianism and the infinite power of love. READ MORE

Couple Mechanics

Written by Nelly Alard | Translated by Adriana Hunter | Jan 2016 | Other Press
At once sexy and feminist, this is a story of a woman who decides to fight for her marriage after her husband confesses to an affair with a notable politician. Juliette, a computer engineer, and Olivier, a journalist, have two young children and the busy lives of a modern Parisian couple. When Olivier confesses to having an affair, Juliette’s world is shattered. READ MORE

Shhh! This Book is Sleeping

Written by Cedric Ramadier | Illustrated by Vincent Bourgeau | Jan 2016 | Random House Kids
Hold this book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Oh, and don’t forget to ask whether it brushed its teeth and went pee-pee! Then turn off the light. There. Shhh! This book is sleeping! Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep. READ MORE

Cruising through the Louvre

Written by David Prudhomme | Translated by Joe Jonhson | Jan 2016 | NBM Publishing
Author David Prudhomme meanders through the Louvre, feeling as if in the panels of a giant comic while he himself is creating his own. In this institution, all manner of people from all over the world rub elbows quietly. So he decides to cruise through the Louvre at a quick pace, not to look at the art but to observe the people and their interaction with it. READ MORE

The Democratic Spirit of Law

Written by Dominique Schnapper | Translated by Bernice Dubois | jan 2016 | Transaction Publishers
In this major new work, Dominique Schnapper continues her investigation into changes in contemporary democracy. Although she concentrates on the French example, The Democratic Spirit of Law concerns all democratic societies. READ MORE

The Deep Sea Diver’s Syndrome

Written by Serge Brussolo | Translated by Edward Gauvin | Jan 2016 | Melville House
In The Deep Sea Diver’s Syndrome, lucid dreamers called mediums dive into their dreams to retrieve ectoplasms—sticky blobs with curiously soothing properties that are the only form of art in the world. The more elaborate the dream, the better the ectoplasm. READ MORE

Thus Zarathustra Fell Silent

Written by Nicolas Wild | Restless Books | Translated by Edward Gauvin | December
A brilliantly original graphic novel that takes on the history of Zoroastrianism, one of the oldest monotheistic religions of the world. READ MORE

Marseille Noir

Written by a collective of French authors | Edited by Cedric Fabre | Translated by David and Nicola Ball | November 2015
Akashic Books continues its groundbreaking series of original noir anthologies, launched in 2004 with Brooklyn Noir. Each story is set in a distinct neighborhood or location within the city of the book. The Akashic Noir Series first ventured into France with Paris Noir, and now moves one step deeper... READ MORE

Pages

1/3
MORE IN books
event

The EU, the U.S., and the Crisis in Ukraine | Pierre Vimont, Alex Cooley, and Tarik Cyril Amar, moderated by Adam Tooze

Feb 8, 2016 | 6pm
Columbia Maison Française Buell Hall
515 W. 116th Street
Buell Hall, 2nd Floor, MC 4990
New York, NY 10027
event

French Literature in the Making: Pierre Bayard

Feb 8, 2016 | 7pm
NYU - Maison Française
16 Washington Mews
New York, NY 10003
event

A Diverse Nation: The French Model of Integration

Feb 9, 2016 | 6:30pm
Columbia Graduate School of Journalism, Pulitzer Hall, Lecture Room 3rd Floor
2950 Broadway, New York, NY 10027
event

Discussion with Ambassador Pierre Vimont

Feb 9, 2016 | 12:30pm
Baker & McKenzie LLP
452 Fifth Avenue NY