How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are: Love, Style, and Bad Habits

Written by Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret, and Sophie Mas
How to Be Parisian Wherever You Are: Love, Style, and Bad Habits
Written by Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret, and Sophie Mas
Published by Doubleday, September 2nd, 2014

From four stunning and accomplished French women, discover a fresh and spirited take on what it really means to be a Parisienne: how they dress, entertain, have fun and attempt to behave themselves.
 
In short, frisky sections, these Parisian women give you their very original views on style, beauty, culture, attitude and men. The authors--Anne Berest, Audrey Diwan, Caroline de Maigret, and Sophie Mas -- unmarried but attached, with children -- have been friends for years. Talented bohemian iconoclasts with careers in the worlds of music, film, fashion and publishing, they are untypically frank and outspoken as they debunk the myths about what it means to be a French woman today. Letting you in on their secrets and flaws, they also make fun of their complicated, often contradictory feelings and behavior. They admit to being snobs, a bit self-centered, unpredictable but not unreliable. Bossy and opinionated, they are also tender and romantic.
 
You will be taken on a first date, to a party, to some favorite haunts in Paris, to the countryside, and to one of their dinners at home with recipes even you could do -- but to be out with them is to be in for some mischief and surprises. They will tell you how to be mysterious and sensual, look natural, make your boyfriend jealous, and how they feel about children, weddings and going to the gym. And they will share their address book in Paris for where to go: At the End of the Night, for A Birthday, for a Smart Date, A Hangover, for Vintage Finds and much more.


Caroline de Maigret is a Parisian model, Lancome spokesperson, Chanel muse, and Instagram star. Sophie Mas is a filmmaker. Anne Berest is a novelist. Audrey Diwan is a scriptwriter and magazine editor.


Praise for the book:

“You don’t have to be French to be a Parisian.“ —Karl Lagerfeld
 
“Very, very funny. While reading, I actually felt chicer, wittier and très Parisienne. I was laughing out loud by the end.” —Plum Sykes, author of Bergdorf Blondes and The Debutante Divorcée

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
Sign in or register to post comments.

More new titles

new titles

Farewell Floppy

It was the perfect plan: abandon pet rabbit Floppy in the woods and take a giant leap toward adulthood. Having a bunny that moonlights as a best friend is for babies, right? From Benjamin Chaud, the critically acclaimed author and illustrator of the New York Times Notable Book "The Bear's Song", comes this unforgettable, thought-provoking picture book about the power of unlikely friendships.
new titles

Luminous Chaos

It’s 1907 in the icily beautiful New Venice, and the hero of the city’s liberation, Brentford Orsini, has been deposed by his arch-rival — who immediately assigns Brentford and his friends on a dangerous diplomatic mission to Paris. So, Brentford recruits his old friend and louche counterpart, Gabriel d’Allier, underground chanteuse and suffragette Lillian Lake, and the mysterious Blankbate–former Foreign Legionnaire and leader of the Scavengers, the city’s garbage collecting cult–and others, for the mission.
new titles

Shhh! This Book is Sleeping

Hold this book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Oh, and don’t forget to ask whether it brushed its teeth and went pee-pee! Then turn off the light. There. Shhh! This book is sleeping! Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep.