My Wish List

Written by Gregoire Delacourt, translated by Anthea Bell | March 25, 2014
My Wish List, by Gregoire Delacourt, Penguin Books, March 2014

Jocelyne lives in a small town in France where she runs a fabric shop, has been married to the same man for twenty-one years, and has raised two children. She is beginning to wonder what happened to all those dreams she had when she was seventeen. Could her life have been different?

Then she wins the lottery—and suddenly finds the world at her fingertips. But she chooses not to tell anyone, not even her husband—not just yet. Without cashing the check, she begins to make a list of all the things she could do with the money. But does Jocelyne really want her life to change?

Gregoire Delacourt is an award-winning French novelist. He lives in Paris.

Anthea Bell has published acclaimed translations from French, German, Danish, and Polish, including W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. She lives in Cambridge, England.


“This dastardly little novel focuses on love, desire and what we stand to lose when we win. . . . [A book] the late novelist Josephine Hart might have written.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Fans of Chocolat and The Elegance of the Hedgehog will adore My Wish List, an emotionally wrenching yet ultimately uplifting story of ambition, risk, and acceptance. . . . Jocelyne is an immensely likable narrator, and Delacourt’s fluid, elegant prose brings layers of depth to a relatively simple story.” —Booklist, starred review

“[A] fable about how money changes everything, and nothing . . . The aching need for comfort, safety and love that it describes is universal.” —Publishers Weekly

More Info

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
Sign in or register to post comments.

More new titles

new titles

Utu

Jack Fitzgerald has been an Auckland cop since the unsolved disappearances of his wife and his daughter. When news of his suicide reaches his old friend Paul Osborne in Australia, Osborne wastes no time: he flies direct to New Zealand in search of the truth, convinced that Jack's death could not have been suicide.
new titles

Markets of Paris Second Edition

The food scene in Paris has changed dramatically since 2006, when Markets of Paris was first published. Yes, the same markets are held in the same locales as always—literally, for centuries—but many have undergone a remarkable transformation led by a young generation of purveyors focused, even more than their predecessors, on local and organic (“bio”) produce.
new titles

Night and Fog - A Film in History

An engrossing account of Alain Resnais’s incomparable film, this book documents how a film that began as a cinematic spin-off of an educational exhibition became a significant step in the building of a collective consciousness of the tragedy of World War II. A unique interpretation of the interworking of biography, history, politics, and film in one cultural moment.
1/3
MORE IN books
authors on tour

Marie-Hélène/Sam Bourcier

November 5-17, 2016
US Tour
authors on tour

Pap Ndiaye

November 4-13, 2016
East Coast
authors on tour

Vinciane Despret

October 29-November 8, 2016
US Tour
authors on tour

Antoine Volodine

October 11-18, 2016
West Coast
event

Reconstructing Comix

October 8, 2016 | 7pm
Cooper Union
Frederick P. Rose Auditorium 41 Cooper Square, New York
1/3
recomended for you
event

Hervé Tullet at the BookFest @ Bank Street

October 22 | 10:15am
Bank Street College of Education
610 West 112th Street, New York NY, 10025
event

Reconstructing Comix

October 8, 2016 | 7pm
Cooper Union
Frederick P. Rose Auditorium 41 Cooper Square, New York