Three Women in a Mirror

Written by Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt | Translated by Alison Anderson | July 2, 2013
Three Women in a Mirror
(Europa Editions, July 2013)

Anna, Hanna, and Anny. Three young women, free spirits all, each one at odds with the age in which they live. Despite the centuries that divide them, their stories intersect—a surprising narrative technique that lends increasing tension and richness to this novel, which builds to a thrilling crescendo of unexpected revelations.

Anne lives in Flanders in the sixteenth century. She’s a mystic who talks with animals like Saint Francis; she finds God in nature and cannot understand the need for religious rituals. Yet her ideas run against the temper of the times. It is the age of the counterreformation and the Inquisition. Her serenity and the loose tongues of those who secretly envy her result in her being branded a heretic, with tragic consequences. Hanna lives in Vienna at the start of the twentieth century. She is a young noblewoman, dissatisfied with bourgeois conventions, who undertakes a journey of self-discovery. After much sadness she will find a method for uncovering the roots of her malaise in a new cure developed by a Viennese doctor by the name of Sigmund Freud. Anny is a Hollywood star of the 2000s. Addicted to celebrity and to variety of illicit substances, she is searching for meaning in world where the only apparent thing of any value is money. Both her comfort and her curse, acting will give her the key to a open a new chapter in her life, where she will find love, companionship, and the meaning she has been searching for.

Eric-Emmanuel Schmitt, author of three collections of short stories published by Europa Editions, including The Most Beautiful Book in the World, tells the stories of three women searching for ways to express their uniqueness and to wrest free of the expectations and limitations that their respective eras impose.

More info

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
Sign in or register to post comments.

More new titles

new titles

Little Jewel

One day in the corridors of the metro, nineteen-year-old Thérèse glimpses a woman in a yellow coat. Could this be the mother who long ago abandoned her? Is she still alive? Desperate for answers to questions that have tormented her since childhood, Thérèse pursues the mysterious figure on a quest through the streets of Paris.
new titles

Lacombe Lucien: The Screenplay

Patrick Modiano and Louis Malle’s screenplay for the Oscar-nominated film tells a powerful story set in World War II France of a sevente
new titles

Shhh! This Book is Sleeping

Hold this book gently because it’s very sleepy! A mouse inside the pages invites you to read the book a bedtime story, tuck it in with a cozy blanket, and give it a hug and a kiss. Oh, and don’t forget to ask whether it brushed its teeth and went pee-pee! Then turn off the light. There. Shhh! This book is sleeping! Fans of Press Here and The Monster at the End of This Book will enjoy coaxing the very book they’re holding to go to sleep.
1/3
MORE IN books
authors on tour

Marie-Hélène/Sam Bourcier

November 5-17, 2016
US Tour
authors on tour

Pap Ndiaye

November 4-13, 2016
East Coast
authors on tour

Vinciane Despret

October 29-November 8, 2016
US Tour
authors on tour

Antoine Volodine

October 11-18, 2016
West Coast
event

Catherine Millet in Conversation with Olivier Barrot

09/26/2016 | 6:30pm
Maison Française of NYU
16 Washington Mews (at University Place)
New York, NY 10003
event

Lecture on "La Cache" by Christophe Boltanski and Laura Marris

09/27/2016 | 4pm
Yale University
Whitney Humanities Center
53 Wall Street, Room 208
New Haven, CT