Fall for French! Upcoming Titles in Translation

September 4, 2013 | By Laurence Marie

First and foremost, we are very happy to welcome two British publishers who have recently crossed the Atlantic to publish French literature in translation stateside: Quercus books and Gallic Books. This is yet another sign that French fiction is reaching an increasingly wide audience!

In Fiction, the highlight of the fall is undoubtedly the publication of three translated books by French literary icon Pierre Michon. French noir continues to intrigue American readers with works by Armand Cabasson, Pierre Lemaître and Philippe Djian. Other French best-sellers will be on the tables, such as short stories by Jonathan Little, renowned author of The Kindly Ones, and a breathtaking historical novel set in the middle ages by the travel-writer Jean-Christophe Rufin. Poetry lovers will not be disappointed either, with new collections by Yves Bonnefoy, Philippe Jacottet and Pierre Reverdy.

Among the beautiful picture books of note, the remarkable The Bear's Song by Benjamin Chaud will delight music fans, offering a seek-and-find visit of the Opera of Paris. Canada's beloved foxes will take over the U.S. with two books originally published by Editions de la Pastèque from Québec. We are also eager to welcome Marc Boutavant during his U.S. tour for the launch of two children's titles: Ghost and Ariol, a comic book.

Joann Sfar’s admirers should not miss his new title Pascin, a biography of the noted Jewish modernist painter. Other noteworthy comics include Renée, the second volume of Ludovic Debeurne’s work published by Top Shef and Frederik Peeters’ unique voice, distilling some of Tardi’s atmosphere in the strangeness and dreamlike Pachyderme.

The Non fiction selection is particularly impressive this fall, with an extensive list of excellent books on diverse subjects. Our favorite is Take a Closer Look, by regretted art historian Daniel Arasse, superbly illustrated and translated by Alyson Waters. Not surprisingly, French philosophy is well represented, with books by Etienne Balibar, Marc Crépon, Jacques Derrida, René Girard, Alexandre Kojeve, Jean-François Lyotard, Antonio Negri, Paul Ricoeur and Stanley Rosen. Fans of Pierre Bourdieu and Maurice Blanchot will be excited to discover two new translations, Algerian Sketches by the first, and Chronicles of intellectual Life by the second. Lacan disciples (and hopefully Freudians too) will enjoy two new books in translation by the French psychoanalyst to supplement their collection.

French history and sociology attract a significantly wider audience, through captivating essays by Roger Chartier, Didier Eribon, Pierre Rosanvallon, Benjamin Stora, and China specialist François Godement, along with two books on the Second World War in film (by Christian Delage and Sylvie Lindeperg, who won a French Voices award). Those concerned by Middle East related issues are sure to be interested in a book on Gaddafi’s harem by Annick Cojean, international correspondent for Le Monde. French anthropology and ethnology are reaching new readers with two original books on Native Americans: Bruce Albert (French Voices award laureate) and Jacques Galinier.

Also of note, two enjoyable essays on the experience of travelling by Pierre Mac Orlan and Sylvain Tesson, the latest telling about the – very cold – six months he spent alone in a cabin in Siberia. And another two essays about a different kind of experience, love, with Pascal Bruckner’s Has Marriage for Love Failed?, and the beautifully illustrated and written The Libertin: The Art of Love in 18th Century France, by Sade’s enthralling specialist, Michel Delon.

Last but not least, don’t miss the writers who will be visiting NYC this fall to tell us about their latest work: Antoine Laurain, author of The President’s Hat, a spirited tale set in the French 80's; Jean-Christophe Valtat, writer of the acclaimed Aurorama, who will present his new novel written directly in English, Luminous Chaos, and will be part of our Proust Inspires Fiction! panels; Peter Szendy, author of the unusual Kant in the Land of Extraterrestrials, who will be coming for Walls and Bridges festival; and the renowned feminist writer Hélène Cixous, who will be discussing how to “Rethink Literature” at NYU.

Download our list of translated titles fall 2013. You can also download our complete list of 2013 translated titles. You can also see our 2012 Translated title list here. If you notice missing titles, please contact the Book Department at 972livre@gmail.com.

Comments are moderated and generally will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive.
Sign in or register to post comments.

Related