• Events
Berthe Morisot: Woman Impressionist Barnes Foundation 2025 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy Philadelphia, PA 19130
Oct 13
Jain - U.S. Tour 3730 N Clark St, Chicago, IL 60613
Oct 18
Reverso East Coast Tour 619 Lexington Avenue at 54th Street New York, NY 10022

Awards For French Cinema From The Los Angeles Film Critics Association

Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) consists of LA-based professional film critics who present annual awards for excellence in the film industry. Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards for success behind and in front of the camera. Plaques of recognition are presented in a ceremony mid-January. LAFCA's choices are often considered significant in predicting the winners of the Academy Awards.

This year, LAFCA has recognized a number of French and French-related films. Adèle Exarchopoulos was awarded alongside Cate Blanchett Best Actress for her performance in Blue is the Warmest Color. Blue is the Warmest Color was also recognized as the Best Foreign Language film of 2013. French animation film Ernest & Celestine took the award for Best Animation. Two other films with French casts and crews, Before Midnight and Inside Llewyn Davis, won awards for Best Screenplay and Best Music Score, respectively.

Here is the complete list of the 2013 LAFCA awards: 

Best Picture: GravityHer (tie) 

Best Actor: Bruce Dern (Nebraska)

Best Actress: Cate Blanchett (Blue Jasmine), Adèle Exarchopoulos (Blue is the Warmest Color) (tie)

Best Supporting Actor: James Franco (Spring Breakers), Jared Leto (Dallas Buyers Club) (tie)

Best Supporting Actress: Lupita Nyong'o (12 Years a Slave)

Best Director: Alfonso Cuaron (Gravity

Best Foreign Language FilmBlue is the Warmest Color

Best Screenplay: Richard Linklater, Julie Delpy, and Ethan Hawke (Before Midnight)

Best DocumentaryStories We Tell

Best AnimationErnest & Celestine

Best Music Score: T Bone Burnett (Inside Llewyn Davis)

Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki (Gravity)

Best Editing: Alfonso Cuaron and Mark Sanger (Gravity)

Best Production Design: K.K. Barrett (Her)

New Generation Prize: Megan Ellison

Legacy of Cinema Prize: Criterion Collection

Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video AwardCabinets of Wonder: Films and a Performance by Charlotte Pryce

Special Citation: The Creative Team of 12 Years a Slave