• Events
SEE ALL
Oct 31
Kids
Albertine Halloween Event Albertine Bookstore, 972 5th Ave New York, NY 10075
Oct 31
Kids
Albertine Halloween Event Albertine Bookstore, 972 5th Ave New York, NY 10075

FR//XR: Shaping New Business Models For The Immersive Industry

© Kaleidoscope

The partners of French Immersion - the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the USA, the CNC, Unifrance and the Institut Français - have entrusted Kaleidoscope to conduct FR//XR, an initiative that aims at analyzing major COVID-19 induced changes on the XR market. It will gather views from content creators, buyers and distributors, as well as paving the way towards a new business model for the immersive industry. 

Running for 10 months, this project will introduce a series of online gatherings starring the most influential voices from the XR industry, and an ambitious research study to determine how best to fund, produce and distribute VR/AR experiences in a new reality. The primary focus of this study is on the United States market, and the potential business models for French XR creators whose mission is to expand into the North American ecosystem. 

Online gatherings

We are organizing events at Cannes XR and more soon at NewImages and other major festivals for XR!

1. LBE in the post-COVID world. Disruption and opportunities at Cannes XR. With Agnès Alfandari, Director of Digital, Institut Français ; David Askaryan, CEO, Museum of Future Experiences ; Elisha Karmitz, CEO, mk2 ; Joanna Popper, Global Head of Virtual Reality for Location Based Entertainment, HP & Emma Buttin, New Media Officer - French Embassy in the US (host). Replay: https://youtu.be/NpesCNSlYLU

2. Festivals and markets facing a new reality. Pandemic challenges meet solutions at Cannes XR. With Zeina Abi Assy, Director, Interactive Programs at Tribeca Film Institute ; Elie Levasseur, XR Programme Leader, Cannes XR ; Blake Kammerdiner, VR Programmer, SXSW ; Michel Reilhac, Programmer of Venice VR and Head of studies for Venice Biennale College Cinema and Cinema VR & René Pinnell, CEO & Founder - Kaleidoscope (host). Replay:  https://www.youtube.com/embed/gNvHnielwnc

3. XR: a brighter future of media and entertainment? at NewImages,Thursday, September 24 at 7PM CEST | 1PM EDT | 10AM PDT

4.  Independent creation in times of COVID-19. The impact of pandemic on XR artists. at NewImages,Thursday, September 24 at 7:45PM CEST | 1:45PM EDT | 10:45AM PDT

Surveys 

We are conducting a series of anonymous surveys within the XR community. The results of the study will be analyzed and implemented (keeping all respondents' identities private) in a final report. The first survey focused on the impact of COVID19 and business models in the XR industry. A second suvey will be launched in August and will question online distribution as COVID 19 has accelerated the digitalisation of our life and businesses.  

Map of the key actors of the XR industry

The Cultural Services published a first map of the key actors of the XR industry in the US. More data will be added until the release of the FR//XR report.

Report 

A report will be release by the end of 2020 on how best to fund, produce and distribute VR/AR experiences in a new reality, based on interviews, cases studies, results of the surveys and identification of the main actors of the industry. 

 

French Immersion is a program initiated by the Cultural Services of the French Embassy and developed to support emerging and innovative French creators, in partnership with UniFrance, the Institut Français, the CNC

Kaleidoscope is a funding platform for premium VR films, games, and experiences. Kaleidoscope has built a global network of more than 20,000 top VR creators and industry leaders. 

MORE IN DIGITAL