• Events
SEE ALL
Sep 28
Concert
Frédéric Yonnet at DC JazzFest 2400 East Capitole Street
Sep 30
Talk
Scholastique Mukasonga & Maaza Mengiste ONLINE EVENT Brookline Booksmith and City of Asylum Bookstore
Sep 30
Talk
Scholastique Mukasonga & Maaza Mengiste ONLINE EVENT Brookline Booksmith and City of Asylum Bookstore

NewImages Festival: Two Panels on the Future of XR

© KALEIDOSCOPE

The partners of French Immersion - the Cultural Services of the French Embassy in the USA, the CNC, Unifrance and the Institut Français - have entrusted Kaleidoscope to conduct FR//XR, an initiative that aims at analysing major COVID-19 induced changes on the XR market from the perspective of content creators, buyers and distributors, as well as paving the way towards a new business model for the immersive industry.

Running for 10 months, this project introduces a series of online gatherings starring the most influential voices from the XR industry, and an ambitious research study to determine how best to fund, produce and distribute VR/AR experiences in a new reality. 

After Cannes XR, join us for two new online events at the New Images Festival. Produced and organized by Forum des images (a cultural institution subsidized by Paris City Hall), NewImages is a festival dedicated to digital creation and virtual worlds. 

To watch the panels :

- register to NewImages' Industry Days to access all the online Industry Days program ($20)

- or sign up to Kaleidoscope to enjoy the two talks for free!

1. XR: a brighter future of media and entertainment?

Thursday 24 September - 10am PT/ 1pm ET / 7pm UTC+1 | Duration: 45' 

Communication and entertainment have moved from physical to virtual by necessity, but there are many reasons to think that the new normal will equal digital. How will the post-pandemic reality impact the media market? What are the chances that extended reality becomes mainstream sooner that any of us expected? How do the biggest players see the future of home-based entertainment and XR in relation with other forms of entertainment (movies, games)?

Speakers:

  • Deborah Papiernik (SVP New Business & Strategic Alliances, Ubisoft),
  • Colum Slevin (Director of AR/VR Media, Facebook-Oculus),
  • Ethan Stearns (VP of Content, Madison Wells Media Interactive),
  • Sarah Steele (Content Partnerships Lead, YouTube VR),
  • Hosted by Axel Scoffier (Deputy Director General, UniFrance)

2. Independent creation in times of COVID-19

Thursday 24 September - 11am PT / 2pm ET / 8pm UTC+1 | Duration: 45'

Lockdown and recession have impacted countless freelance artists and media creators. Many industry members declare losing income, or even facing an end to their creative practice. How has a collaborative approach risen and could a co-creative mindset become a foundation for the new reality? How do the artists react to the crisis? And to what extent the pandemic can be seen as an opportunity to revise rules and values of the young XR industry?

Speakers:

  • Olivier Fontenay (Head of the Digital Creation Department, CNC),
  • Amaury La Burthe (CEO & Creative director, Novelab),
  • Anja Moreno-Smith (Chief Operations Officer, Potential Synergy),
  • Bracey Smith (Founder and XR Creative Developer, Potential Synergy),
  • Hosted by Ana Brzezińska (Curator and Producer, Kaleidoscope VR)
MORE IN DIGITAL