• Events
SEE ALL

TV5MONDE Program Highlights - January 2021

Gloria mundi by Robert Guédiguian

This month, immerse yourself in French culture with the TV5MONDE programming. In addition to offering premium films, including several heartwarming comedies, the program presents a chance to discover new series, fun-filled variety shows, and engaging documentaries.


FILMS

Gloria Mundi | 2018 - Robert Guédiguian | January 3 at 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT

Daniel, just out of prison, discovers he's a grandfather. An opportunity for him to reconnect with his family as they struggle hard to make ends meet. But as bad luck makes life even tougher for the young parents, Daniel decides he's prepared to try anything in order to help them.

Sophia Antipolis | 2018 - Virgil Vernier | January 24 at 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT

Sophia-Antipolis is the name of a strange land between Mediterranean Sea, forest and mountains. Beneath its dazzling sunshine, its men and women are in search of meaning, social cohesion and a sense of community. They cross the path and destiny of a young girl who has disappeared: Sophia.

Le grand bal | 2018 - Laetitia Carton | January 31 at 8:30 pm ET/5:30 pm PT

It's the story of a dance. A grand ball. Every year, since 1990, over two thousand people travel from all over Europe to this little corner of the French countryside. Dancing for seven days and eight nights, over and over, losing all notion of time, ignoring fatigue and their body.


TV SERIES

Temps de chien | 2019 - Édouard Deluc | January 1 at 5:30 pm ET/2:30 pm PT

Captain of a ''bateau-mouche'', fifty-something Jean is going through a seriously bad patch: suspended by his boss, he risks losing custody of his children and sees himself evicted from his flat. But his meeting with Victor, a young struggling musician, leads to the perspective of better days to come.

Écrivain public season 3 | 2019 - Éric Piccoli | January 6 at 11:30 pm ET/8:30 pm PT

Inspired by his recent years as a public letter-writer, Mathieu publishes his first novel, to rave reviews. But the publication takes Mathilde by surprise and, as his employer, she immediately sacks him.


DOCUMENTARIES

Voix d'or | 2019 - Carole Grigy | January 25 at 3:00 pm ET/12:00 pm PT

Aged 26, Jean-François Marras becomes a tenor at the Opéra de Paris, a career for which he hardly seemed destined. From his native Corsica to New York, a look back at a journey of initiation that recounts family, tradition and talent; the blessing of having a gift and sharing it.

Tandems | 2018 - Cyril Delachaux | January 15 at 3:00 pm ET/12:00 pm PT

Médéric, Clémence, Sylvain, Anne and the others... They may be blind or partially sighted but that doesn't stop them speeding down the slopes with disconcerting ease. Their guide, Deny, accompanies them by voice. Far from the usual clichés, an interwoven portrait of extraordinary personalities, defying their handicap to ski in pairs.


TV5MONDE CINEMA

For the seventh year in a row, TV5MONDE Cinema On Demand is partnering with Unifrance to present My French Film Festival, the innovative global online French film festival showcasing a new generation of Francophone filmmakers! Official My French Film Festival selections will be available beginning January 15.

 

*****************

All movies are in French with English subtitles.

Click here to see the full schedule! 

*****************

ABOUT:

TV5MONDE is a global French language entertainment network that showcases premium films and programs from across the world. With more than 1.5 million viewers nationwide in the USA, TV5MONDE is a renowned leader in French language entertainment. 

MORE IN FILM, TV & NEW MEDIA