• Events
Pascal Rambert Residency and Performances Performance Spaces for the 21st C. (PS21) 2980 Route 66 PO Box 321 Chatham, US 12037

Order Of Arts And Letters Awards 2015

Several eminent American artists, gallerists, curators, philosophers, and other important figures in the art world have recently been awarded the insignia of the Order of Arts and Letters by Bénédicte de Montlaur, Cultural Counselor of the French Embassy. 

Carl Andre, the groundbreaking Minimalist, and Paula Cooper, founder of the Paula Cooper Gallery, were awarded the insignia of the Order of Arts and Letters on November 30, 2015, at the Cultural Services of the French Embassy. Andre was made a Commandeur of the Order, while Cooper, who was made a Chevalier in 2002, was promoted to the status of Officier.

Carla Peterson,  the devoted dance expert and director of the Maggie Allesee Center for Choreography joined the order with Charles Ruas, a brillant art and literary critic, on November 23, 2015.

Adam D. Weinberg, the director of the Whitney Museum of American Art, joined the Order on November 17, 2015.

June Hargrove, the dIstinguished art historian and Professor at the University of Maryland, specialist of European art, and Alison Stones, specialist on Medieval Art History the University of Pittsburgh, were admitted to the Order of Arts and Letters on November 10, 2015. 

Christo Vladimirov Javacheff (or “Christo”), the multimedia artist who is known for executing large-scale temporary works of art in collaboration with his late wife, Jeanne-Claude (1935-2009), was awarded the insignia on November 2, 2015.

The Executive Director and Chief Curator of The Kitchen Tim Griffin and the composer David Lang were awarded the insignia on October 16, 2015.

The Order of Arts and Letters (Ordre des Arts et des Lettres) was established in 1957 to recognize eminent artists and writers, as well as people who have contributed significantly to furthering the arts in France and throughout the world. The Order of Arts and Letters is given out under the jurisdiction of the Minister of Culture and Communication.  American recipients of the award include Paul Auster, Ornette Coleman, Agnes Gund, Marilyn Horne, Jim Jarmusch, Richard Meier, Robert Paxton, Robert Redford, Meryl Streep, and Uma Thurman.