Sixty US-Based Ph.D. Students Selected for French Embassy’s Chateaubriand Fellowship Program

Sixty US-Based Ph.D. Students Selected for French Embassy’s Chateaubriand Fellowship Program

New York, July 6, 2022 – The French Embassy’s Cultural Services and Office for Science and Technology today announced the 57 recipients of its annual Chateaubriand Fellowship Program. Now in its 41st year, the program supports outstanding Ph.D. students from American universities who wish to conduct research in France for a period ranging from 4 to 9 months.

Representing 44 American universities, the fellows’ specialties are very diverse – from History, Comparative Literature, and Dance to Engineering, Agronomy, Biology, and more. Chateaubriand fellows are selected through a merit-based competition, in a collaborative process involving expert evaluators in both countries. The French institutions that will host the fellows are located in cities across France.

“The Chateaubriand Fellowship Program has supported research collaborations between the United States and France since 1981, and every year we are impressed by the new fellows’ projects and talent. We are proud that this program not only supports students and their important research, but also helps forge and strengthen lasting partnerships between universities and research teams on both sides of the Atlantic,” said Gaëtan Bruel, Cultural Counselor of the French Embassy in the US.

Selection for the Chateaubriand Fellowship in Humanities and Social Sciences (HSS)

Ârash Aminian Tabrizi, New York University to Sorbonne Université

Felicia Cucuta, Harvard University to Université Paris Nanterre

Quentin Dishman, University of Minnesota to Université Paul Valéry Montpellier 3

Ryan Eisenman, University of Pennsylvania to École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

Madison Mainwaring, Yale University to École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

Emily Marks, University of Virginia to Université Sorbonne Nouvelle

Ayan Hassan Meer, Massachusetts Institute of Technology to Université de Paris

Louise Moulin, Yale University to Université Paris Nanterre

Caitlin O’Keefe, New York University to École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales

Anna Orton-Hatzis, City University of New York to Musée d’Orsay

Paige Pendarvis, University of Pennsylvania to Centre Norbert Elias (UMR 8562)

Jorge Ivan Puma Crespo, University of Notre Dame to Université Paris-Saclay

Samuel Smucker, Indiana University to Le Mans Université

Tomasz Wysocki, University of Pittsburgh to Université Panthéon-Sorbonne

Zeead Yaghi, University of California, San Diego to Sciences Po Paris

Robert Yee, Princeton University to Paris School of Economics

Weixin Zhou, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill to Sorbonne Université

This fellowship is offered by the Cultural Services of the Embassy of France. It is supported by the Campus France agency, with networking opportunities offered by the Fulbright program in France. 

Selection for the Chateaubriand Fellowship in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics & Biology-Health (STEM)

Aaron Anderson, University of California Los Angeles to Université Claude Bernard – Lyon 1

Abigail Hasson, Washington University in St Louis to Institute of Chemistry of Strasbourg

Adam Chmurzynski, University of Arizona to Université de Montpellier

Alan Gen Li, Columbia University to CentraleSupélec, Université Paris-Saclay

Alan Luo, Georgia Tech to Conservatoire national des arts et métiers

Ana Defendini, University of Pennsylvania to ICM / Paris Brain Institute

Anais Teyton, University of California, San Diego to Inserm- Sorbonne Université

Brandon Malone, The Rockefeller University to École Normale Supérieure

Carmen Metzler, University of Puerto Rico, Rio Piedras to Bordeaux Univeristy

Cassidy Atkinson, University of Connecticut to Université Paris Saclay

Conner Penson, University of Central Florida to Université Paris-Saclay

Danielle Becker, University of Rhode Island to Université de Perpignan Via Domitia

Dylan Langharst, Kent State University to Université Gustave Eiffel

Easwar Anand Narayanan, University of New Mexico to Université Paris-Saclay

Evaristo Villaseco Arribas, Rutgers University to Université Paris-Saclay

Gabriela Sinclair, University of California Davis to INRAE Centre de Bordeaux-Aquitaine

Grant Barkley, Harvard University to L’École Polytechnique

Harold Pinckney, University of Massachusetts Amherst to Université Lyon 1

Hayden Holmlund, University of Hawaii at Manoa to Université de Paris

Jacob Zulk, Baylor College of Medicin to Institut Cochin

Jessica Martinez, Rutgers University to Universite de Lille

John Henson, University of South Florida to University of Montpellier

Jonathan Boretsky, Harvard University to Université de Paris

Joseph Pugh, Colorado State University to CNRS

Joseph Vecchi, University of Iowa to University of Montpeilleir

Kathryn Appler, University of Texas at Austin to Institut Pasteur

Laura Falceto Font, University of Florida to Institut Cochin- Universite de Paris

Madison Borrelli, Arizona State University to Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon

Margaret Fortman, University of Wisconsin – Madison to College de France

Mariola Flores Rivera, University of Puerto Rico to PSL Research University

Miguel Rodriguez, Texas A&M University to University of Strasbourg

Mohamed Gaber, Wake Forest School of Medicine to Integrated Center for Oncology Angers

Mohit Tekriwal, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor to INRIA

Oluwakorede Olugbenle, University of Wisconsin-Madison to ISARA

Richard Ortiz Godoy, University of Connecticut to Université Grenoble Alpes

Ryan Evenson, Harvard University to Centre de Recherche Paul Pascal

Samuel Lamont, University of Colorado Boulder to École Polytechnique

Thomas Longo, University of Maryland, College Park to Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1

Vinay Kumar, Indiana University to IMT Nord Europe

Zachary Traylor, North Carolina State University to Inria Bordeaux Sud-Ouest

This fellowship is offered by the Office for Science & Technology (OST) of the Embassy of France in partnership with American universities and French research organizations such as Inserm and Inria. It is a partner of the National Science Foundation’s GROW program.

About The Cultural Services of the French Embassy  

The Cultural Services of the French Embassy, alongside Villa Albertine, promotes the best of French arts, literature, cinema, digital innovation, language, and higher education across the US. Based in New York City, Washington D.C., and eight other cities across the country, the Cultural Services brings artists, authors, intellectuals, and innovators to cities nationwide. It also builds partnerships between French and American artists, institutions and universities on both sides of the Atlantic. In New York, through its bookshop Albertine, it fosters French-American exchange around literature and the arts.

About the Office for Science & Technology (OST) of the French Embassy

The Office for Science and Technology (OST), a team of 24 staff members including professors, senior researchers and engineers located in the Embassy (Washington, DC) and 6 consular offices (Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, San Francisco) is dedicated to bilateral French-American collaborations in Science and Technology.